Beauty / Makeup

3 steps to a Perfect Bold Lipstick

Hey Beauties,

I used be a girl who only used vaselines, lip balms, chap sticks, or nude lipsticks. I tried the red lip once couple of years back, and that was a BIG NO NO. Probably cause i wasn’t used to wearing bright lipsticks.

With the trends this past year, I was like “WTH, let me try again”  so I started picking up on BOLD LIPSTICKS and absolutely fell in love with them.

Things I do before smacking on the bold colors:

products

 1) Prep your lips with Vaseline, lip balm etc and make sure you don’t have any dry patches or skin popping out.

 2) Use a lip liner and line those babies. Why you ask?? well you don’t want to get  the lipstick or lip gloss to feather.

 I like to use the  Maybelline Expert wear brow liner as a lip liner, because its nude and I don’t like the stain of a “lined” look when the lipstick is gone.  DON’T DRAW but sketch. Start from the middle going outwards.

line lips

3)  Apply the Lipstick/Lip Gloss starting from the middle to outward.

The MUA Luxe Velvet Lip Lacquers are highly pigmented and the darn things don’t come off easily. Great for wearing longer period of time. I had the Velvet Lip Lacquer Reckless (Red) on during New year’s eve and through out the 9 hours, I retouched only once.

purple kisses

MUA Luxe Velvet Lip Lacquer in “Kooky”

I wanted to share my tips and would love to hear yours.

mehnazs  signature 2

2 thoughts on “3 steps to a Perfect Bold Lipstick

  1. I know I’m late and I just read this post and will try your tips because I still wear tinted lip gloss. My sisters never taught me how to use make-up nor do my hair so I will be bold about my lips for once. Any color ideas for darker skin?

    • Hey Amani,

      Everyone one, including me had that fear of ‘picking the wrong shade’ which put us into a neutral corner. Here’s what the cosmetic counters didn’t tell you: light and bright shades of lipstick look as beautiful on dark skin tones as they do on light skin tones. It’s just about finding the right consistency for you, whether it’s Rihanna’s red pout or Nicki Minaj’s hot pink pout.
      Be CONFIDENT and you can carry off any look you desire.

      “Take the color you currently wear and try something a few shades brighter first as a stain or as a gloss, then as a full color when you’re ready. Going from lip gloss to brick red would terrify anyone,” Nicola advises from YouTube make-up duo Pixiwoo.

Leave a Reply

